The Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards seek to recognize and reward distinction among South African journalists of their relentless curiosity, accuracy in sharing information with the aim of getting society to think, initiate action and create awareness of topical issues and matters of interest.


  • Regional winners in all categories will win R5 000 then move on to compete in the National Awards in November
  • National winners in each category receive R10 000 and the overall national winner of the Vodacom Journalist of the year will win a handsome prize of R100 000


  • All material must have been published or broadcast between May 1, 2015 and May 30, 2016
  • Proof of publication or broadcast date must be supplied
  • The content of entries must predominantly cover South African issues. Entries must be produced as well as published/broadcast in South Africa

DEADLINE: August 4 2016

To apply and for more information visit here

Did you like this?
The following two tabs change content below.