UNESCO is calling for applications and nominations for its two prestigious International Literacy Prizes for the 2017 edition.

This year’s theme is ‘literacy in a digital world’, which will also set the focus for International Literacy Day, celebrated on 8 September.

470 projects and programmes in the field of literacy have already been recognized and rewarded since 1967 for their excellence and innovation, undertaken by Governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world.


Two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes are given to five laureates every year:

  • The first Prize is the UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize supported by the Government of the Republic of Korea
  • The second Prize is the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy. It is supported by the Government of the People’s Republic of China
  • Each of the five prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma, and US$20.000 for their project or programme. The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes are awarded at an official ceremony at UNESCO’s Headquarters in Paris on the International Literacy Day.

DEADLINE:    31 May 2017 for applications

14 June 2017 for nominations

To apply and for more information visit here



Did you like this?
The following two tabs change content below.